Serious Game Classification

Big Bird's Egg Catch Children's Computer Workshop (U.S.A.), Atari (U.S.A.), 1983  

Informations Analyses Discussion





Besides play, this title features the following intents:
  • Licensed title
  • Educative message broadcasting


This title is used by the following domains:
  • Entertainment
  • Education


This title targets the following audience:
Age : 12-16 / 17-25 / 3-7
General Public


The gameplay of this title is Game-based
(designed with stated goals)

The core of gameplay is defined by the rules below:

Similar games

Big Bird's Egg Catch Big Bird wants to win the county fair egg contest and you can help him.

A chicken at the top will lay and egg and it will go down a chute. You must get Big Bird under the correct chute to catch the egg.

Game one is one player only. Games two through ten are one or two player. All games have two rounds.

Game one is a practice round. There are two chickens, straight chutes and when you move Big Bird left or right, he pops right under the chute.

Games two and three have three then four chutes and the game gets faster in the second round. Game two's chutes are straight, game three's zig-zag. Big Bird still pops under a chute.

Games four, five and six have three rounds. There will be eleven white eggs dropped and one golden egg. Games four starts with two zig-zagging chutes in the first round and four in the second. Game five has two crisscrossing chutes in the first round, four in the second. Game six has four crisscrossing chutes in both rounds. Big Bird no longer pops under the chute but must be positioned correctly.

Games seven has eleven white eggs and one golden egg dropping per round with unlimited rounds. There are five broken eggs on the bottom left and you do rounds until you miss so many eggs you are out of broken eggs. when you catch the golden egg, in addition to points, you get an extra broken egg.

Game eight is the same as game seven except you can't see an egg in the chute, only when it pops out the bottom.

Games nine and ten are the same as game seven but the chutes shrink up in the direction of the hens. This means you must memorize when the chute comes out for which chicken. In game nine, the chutes are all the same for each round. In game ten, the patterns change per round.

Each white egg caught is worth one point, each golden egg, five.

For ages three to seven. [source:mobygames]

Distribution : Retail - Commercial
Platform(s) : Atari 2600